Would Jesus run for president?

In recent history I have seen a lot in the media and online concerning homosexuality, the definition of marriage, the decisions of the Supreme Court, and how the Federal Government enforces those laws. I’m thinking specifically of the case of Kim Davis, the KY clerk officer who is currently in prison for not issuing marriage licenses to homosexual couples. All of these issues come together and provoke a great many questions, not just of a religious nature, but of the role of government in our society and how one can resist the government if and when the need arises.

This is by no means an easy subject; I give here only my own opinions based on my own convictions. I don’t like name-calling or unnecessary labeling simply to fill the space with words. Here, I will do my best to only express my own thoughts as respectfully as I can. I do so as a Christian, a follower of Jesus trying to emulate what I see from his life in my own life today.

First off, I love people. All people. Whether white, black, yellow, red, brown, straight, gay, transgendered, christian, muslim, atheist, satanist, fat, short, tall, thin, nerdy, geeky, jock, whatever. I believe that, as a follower of Jesus, I am called to walk in his footsteps and love everyone equally without finding fault. It is important to note, however, that the love Jesus had for his fellow humanity did not stop him from calling out people who needed to be called out, whether for their pride, arrogance, lack of understanding, sexual immorality, etc. Jesus loved people, but he loved them too much to leave them in their brokenness.

This is also NOT the only thing Jesus did during his short ministry. He did not spend all of his time pointing out the imperfections of his fellow man; I am not sure he would have had much of a following if that were the only thing he did.

I say that to say that I believe there are times when we should speak with love into the lives of others to help direct them onto a better path. A key factor in this process is relationship. We often leave out and neglect the fact that Jesus always starts his ministry with people on a personal level, then moves into helping pull them out of their brokenness only after he has loved them for who they are. Jesus shows us that you can, in fact, love someone and disagree with their lifestyle.

In short, there is a time and a place for those conversations.

I don’t expect people who aren’t believers of Jesus to act as though they are. I don’t expect people who don’t give any credit to the Bible to act as though it is the word of God. That would be foolish.

I do expect Christians to act like Christians. I expect people who claim to love Jesus to not picket the private residence of the judge who put Mrs. David in jail. I expect those same “Christians” to NOT call people hateful names, tell people that they are going to Hell and will suffer forever, or to cry and scream when a non-Christian world acts as though it isn’t Christian. All of which, by the way, I never see Jesus doing in any record of his life. More often than not, Jesus is dispersing angry mobs as best he can, as often as he can.

I’ll be writing some more with thoughts along the lines of this subject, but I merely want to begin this dialogue by repeating what Jesus once told his followers. “A new commandment I give to you, love one another; just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34-35

I don’t think Jesus meant this just for his disciples that were present there with him, and I don’t think he meant only for believers who interacted with people in the Church. I think he meant this for all of his followers when interacting with all people.

Leave a Reply

